Saint Paul's has a beautiful area set aside for the Stations of the Cross, off the parking lot at the rear of the church.


                                                                                                         Some pictures of Saint Paul's Stations of the Cross


What are The Stations Of The Cross?

The Stations Of The Cross are a popular Catholic devotion which commemorates the Passion and death of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

What do the fourteen stations mean?

Each of the fourteen stations stands for an event which occurred during Jesus' Passion and death at Cavalry on Good Friday. A person making the Stations Of The Cross is to meditate about each event depicted at each station, and pray.

Where does one make the Stations Of The Cross?

At many Catholic Churches and Chapels, mounted along the sides of the interior walls are fourteen plaques which depicts each Station Of The Cross. A person making the Stations will go to each station and pray and meditate about that particular event which Jesus went through in His Passion and death. Sadly, many Churches today have removed their Stations Of The Cross, for reasons which are unknown to me.

Can The Stations Be Done Anywhere? Are special prayers to be recited?

Yes, the Stations Of The Cross can be done anywhere, with a group of people, alone, and mentally. There are no specific prayers that are to be said. There are many different prayers written by various people throughout the centuries which are beautiful and profound. You can make your own personal prayer which you recite when you meditate about each station.

When did the devotion to the Stations Of The Cross begin?

The Stations were originally performed many centuries ago by Christian pilgrims who actually visited the Holy Land, and went to the sites of Jesus' Passion. There are records of similar forms of this devotion which date back to the 400s.

Who were the great promoters of this devotion?

Promotion of the devotion to the Stations began in earnest with the Franciscans, who were given custody of the Holy Places in the Holy Land in the 1300s. Many great Saints, numerous Popes, and countless Catholics, have all enriched their spiritual lives with this powerful devotion.

Did you know that the Pope once made a special Stations?

Pope John Paul II, once during a Good Friday, slightly altered the usual fourteen stations in this manner: (1) Jesus' agony in the garden (2) Jesus is betrayed by Judas and is arrested (3) Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin (4) Jesus is denied by Peter (5) Jesus is condemned by Pontius Pilate (6) Jesus is scourged and crowned with thorns (7) Jesus is made to carry the cross (8) Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus with His cross (9) Jesus meets with the women of Jerusalem (10) Jesus is crucified (11) Jesus promises paradise to the repentant thief (12) Jesus speaks to John and Mary on the cross (13) Jesus dies on the cross (14) Jesus is buried in the tomb.